Posted by: jenn11970 | March 6, 2008

Life sneaks up on you

Snow. It can be beautiful, or it can be a menace. This time snow brought me to my knees. Literally.

I got to spend the night in the hospital last Wednesday night as a patient in the Cardiac Decision Unit. Yes, the word Cardiac was in that last sentence. The day before, I had chest pains while shoveling the driveway and playing with Little One in the snow. I did some deep breathing and figured it was just a stitch, or cramp. Everything seemed okay later Tuesday night, and I just went about my daily evening routine. I woke up bright and early Wednesday and enjoyed coffee with the hubby and got him off to work and hung out with the babe. Shortly after putting her down for her nap I decided to sit down and check email etc. I started getting the strangest pain in my chest and then it shot across the chest and down the dreaded left arm. I was TERRIFIED!! I did the deep breathing thing again, and knowing if I went to the doctor they would do an EKG, I got in the shower to…….wait for it……SHAVE MY LEGS!!! How crazy am I ??? (My husband tore me new one for that little bit) I then got LO and drove to the nearest med point. They did the EKG and then told me I had to go to the hospital to get some blood tests. I called hubby, he met me at home, and we went to the hospital together. Thank God he did because they admitted me. I burst into tears.  All I could think about was who was going to take care of my husband and child???

I am 38, and I have now had my first stress test. I passed with flying colors, and all my blood work came back great too. No heart attack. No blocked arteries, and my cholesterol is wonderful. I pulled a muscle in my chest while shoveling snow. Yes, I pulled a muscle while shoveling snow. I have a very deep history of heart disease on both sides of my family, so I am glad I had it all checked out.

The moral of all of this rambling? Do not let life sneak up on you. If you think something may be wrong, just get it checked out. I am going to talk to my doctor and see if I am too young for a mammogram, and get that out of the way too. Why wait? The fear I had that night was like no other and all I kept thinking about was my husband having to take care of our daughter ALONE. I thought about all of the things I would miss in her life. It was absolutely terrifying.

Today, I am beginning the healthy portion of my life. I am eliminating the stress, eating healthier, and…….starting to exercise again. I have put on some weight, and it is now time to take it off and take my life back.

Today is a gift. One that I want to continue unwrapping.


Responses

  1. WOW! That is scary…. but hopefull the good side of it is that it does make you (and all of us through you!) realize how precious each day is.

  2. you already know I am happy that it is all over an you are healthy xoxo

  3. Thanks Deb. ; )

    Trying to clean up my drafts and get them published. I had quite a few of them started and just needed to get them cleaned up and posted.

    Never enough time in a day!!


Leave a comment

Categories