Posted by: jenn11970 | December 23, 2007

Frantic….peace

Well I decided to go ahead and get the gift I wanted to get for L. I know she will love it. I ordered it, and then the wait began. I was so hoping to have it in my hot little hands by Tuesday, but it was not in the cards. The gift arrived at my house yesterday, and I frantically wrapped it, because I have waited 20 years to wrap a gift for her. I carefully packaged the rest of the gifts and rushed to the post office to overnight them to her. I then ran a few other errands, since I am having Little One’s whole first family with us on Sunday to celebrate Christmas. We get home, have lunch and then I put her down for a nap. I finish wrapping some of my last minute gifts and begin cleaning. Remembering my hubby said there might be a few things delivered to the house, I check the front porch. That is when I find it……. my Christmas gift FROM L!!!!

She is so funny, and so creative. When we got together for the first time in Boston, there were tons of places we wanted to see, and so many restaurants to chose from. I love seafood, and living in a land-locked state, fresh seafood is “fresh-frozen” at best. So what did my darling daughter get me?? Lobster dinner for two from Legal Seafood!!! LIVE LOBSTERS!!! Yes, I can get them from the grocery store, but these were from LEGAL SEAFOOD!!!! It was one of the restaurants we were trying to decide between for our first dinner.

To say I was surprised, is really putting it mildly. DH and I enjoyed our wonderful dinner last night. Squeamish one that I am, I made DH put the buggers in the pot as I ran out the front door. I don’t like the noises they make in the pot as the steam escapes from the shells!! LOL!! We sit down to eat and Little One looks at our plates and her eyes are suspicious and her brows are knitted a bit. She says,”Mommy, eat Nemo? Mommy, Daddy big Nemo plate. Mommy, Nemo???” We both smile at each other, as we realize that she is thinking because they are bright orangey-red so they kind of look like Nemo. IT was too funny.

I hope she won’t be traumatized!!!

I will definitely be updating about our special party on Sunday. I am soooooo excited!! I love seeing Little One interact with her cousins and J (Little One’s First Mom.) We will also be meeting J’s new boyfriend. She seems very smitten with him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How could I also forget…. J has finished High School, and although she can graduate early, wants to walk with her class, so she will formally graduate in May. She is the first person in her family to complete High School. She is getting a full time job, and starting COLLEGE in August!!!! We are so excited, happy, and proud of her. It was a little touch and go for bit, and I went to a guidance appointment with her prior to classes starting so her counselor would know she had me in her corner. She also wanted me to help her get her schedule together since she needed to make up so many classes due to poor attendance and poor grades the last 3 years. She opted for alternative school, and got to finish classes at her own pace, and it worked great for her!! She actually seemed to be enjoying school.

Through all the sadness this year gave us, we all have so many things to be thankful for, and many bright things to look forward to in our futures.

Life is good, life is frantic, but most of all…. life is peaceful.

Merry Christmas.

Responses

  1. Jenn….how cool…I am so excited to read your blog..just wish you would update more often…how did the visit go with DD family??

  2. This whole post made me smile, Jenn. Hugs to you and yours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

