Posted by: jenn11970 | November 7, 2007

54 Days until the New Year

We just got home last night, and this morning this was my first thought. There are only 54 more days in this year and I really hope next year is better than this one. I am usually one of the most optimistic people around, but this year has really given me a run for my glass-is-half-full theory.

Although this year has had many ups…. it has had its downs as well. We lost my FIL last Monday from complications due to a car accident. The day after he passed, my brother’s wife gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. To say my week was up and down is an understatement.

The loss of my FIL is huge. My husband lost his Dad. His Mother lost her spouse of 48 years. His sisters lost their hero. Our daughter and her cousins lost their Grandpa. I have been blessed to have Grandparents still living at my ripe old age of 37. It was hard to see him at the wake and not think about my own Father and Grandpa.

I wish I knew what to say to my husband to help him through this. It all just seems so senseless. He has struggled at being angry with God because of his MS, and now I am so afraid he is going to turn his back for good. His Dad was coming out of church on that Thursday, and the last food he had in his stomach was the Eucharist. As a Catholic, I saw this as an instant ticket into heaven. My husband is angry that a man like his Dad was taken while trying to be a good Catholic.

Thanks to everyone for all of your prayers and warm thoughts. It really meant a lot to me and Jim. I am so hoping that time will heal some of his anger.

Responses

  1. No words…just lots of thoughts and prayers for a quick healing of all your souls…

  2. So sorry Jenn. Keep on doing what you’re doing–he really needs that from you right now, it sounds like. Don’t forget to take care of you!

  3. I’m so sorry for your family’s loss.

    You’re in our prayers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

