Posted by: jenn11970 | October 22, 2007

Ahhh, the wonderful world of books

Today I had to go to one of the big bookstores in my area to get a gift certificate.  While walking around, I decided to go and see what type of books were available relating to adoption.  I am still newly in reunion, and with Little One only being a little over 2, I decided it can’t hurt to find some books and learn a little for both of my girls.  Oh what an eye opening experience that was.

Let me just say I am so disappointed in Borders.  They must have had over 500 books on pregnancy, baby names, and parenting.  I am sure some of you more savvy bloggers in the adoption world will not be surprised by what I am about to type.  They had ONE SHELF on adoption, nay, not even one shelf, and 6 of the 13 books on it were “How to” books with multiple copies.  So how many were about adoptees or Moms????  THREE!!! Three friggin’ books about how my daughters may feel.  Actually only 2 were adoptee related, and the last one was Ann Fessler’s book.  I was really hoping to find a nice book for L, and I wanted to find a good book for me, to help me with some of the issues I have noticed cropping into my life recently.  I did end up buying “Being Adopted: The Lifelong Search for Self”.  It looked like a good book, and I also picked up Fessler’s book again, since mine seems to have mysteriously disappeared.  I hadn’t read it yet, so I started it today.

I guess I will have to use Amazon to get any books I want.  They seem to have the ability to give me the variety I need.  I didn’t really expect to find hundreds of books on adoption and adoption healing, but I certainly thought there would be more than one shelf, and more than 3 in the self-help category.

Needed to vent, and there it was.

Responses

  1. I suggest Ann Fessler’s book. The Girls Who Went Away. It is in paperback now. Betty J. Lifton, The Journey of the Adopted Self. Georgia Tann’s biography. I just bought it recently. I suggest anything by BJ Lifton

    also there is a forum strictly for adoptees. http://www.adultadoptees.org/forum. Highly recommend it. OriginsUSA is another excellent source. Bastard Nation especially when you are feeling “snickering” snarky. Soul of Adoption is another excellent website. Adoption Triad Outreach is another excellent group. If there is anymore that I can do to help, hollar at me.

  2. Jen…I like the new title…

    I know that when I do go to those large bookstores that I always regret it. We have a few of the local stores and I prefer them over all else. They will order anything for you and will even search out books for you if you don’t have the time.

    http://www.underthesycamoretreebookstore.com/NASApp/store/IndexJsp
    this is my current fav…but it is here near me…I guess that means you have to come for a visit.

    I am loving the blog…keep up the good work.

  3. Awww thanks Deb. Did you change yours??

    I know, I am a slacker in the visit department!!

  4. I re hooked…check out the link at IAA…


Leave a Reply

Categories

