Posted by: jenn11970 | August 2, 2007

Dinner in Venice

My father lives just outside of Venice, Italy. My biological daughter and her family are in Italy right now. Guess who got to meet his first born grandchild Tuesday night??? That would be my Dad.

My Mom went with me for my first meeting with L and her family. I felt that it was only fitting that the woman who helped me bring her into this world, should be able to meet her around the same time I did. With my Dad living so far away, it was not possible for him to be there, and he was okay to wait to meet her until my Sister’s wedding. Well imagine his surprise when her parents suggested getting together while they were touring Italy?!?!

They all went out to dinner together, and had a wonderful time. My Dad and his wife bought her a necklace, bracelet, and earrings. When she opened up the gift, her Dad said, “L, why don’t you go over there and have your Grandfather put that necklace on for you.” She excitedly agreed. My Dad was so happy. Apparently, they took some pictures of him putting the necklace on her, I can’t wait to see that!!

I was really nervous about the get together, because my Dad has had some very choice things to say about their attorney over the years. They had no idea what he was doing on my end, and we have shared letters that were sent to both of us, about the same topic, but with completely different reasoning in each. They were surprised at some of the info, but they had heard he was the best, and still think so. Eh, so be it. I just didn’t want my Dad to bring him up or talk about how much he despised him.

So now she has met both of my parents, and she will be meeting the rest of my family after my sister’s wedding. She and her parents are staying at the same hotel we are all staying at the night of the wedding. I can’t wait for her to meet my Grandparents. I am so happy that her parents found me while they are still living. She is excited because she just lost her last Grandparent in March, and now has all her biological ones plus Great-Grandparents!! I am hopeful that a great time will be had by all!!!

Categories

